The Jury

The selection of the prize winners from the entered academic theses requires a top-class jury.
The jury of the German Simulation And Gaming Award consists of representatives from different academic institutions and experienced professionals with an interdisciplinary background:

Prof. Dr. Thomas Eberle

Prof. Dr. Thomas Eberle

University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, holder of the Chair for Educational Science with a main focus on Hauptschule (a specific form of secondary education in Germany)

  • Special training in systems competence, simulation games design and intercultural training
  • Executive coach, corporate consultant and free-lance trainer (use of simulation games, outdoor-elements and team exercises)
  • Founder member and former chairperson of SAGSAGA, former member of the ISAGA Steering Committee and the Science Committee

Dr. Andrea Frank

University Cardiff, Senior Lecturer in Planning and Urban Design

  • Teaching on Sustainable Urban Design, English for Planners and International Planning Principles
  • Cooperative, self-directed and experimental learning
  • Development/Application of simulation games in research and urban/enviromental planning
Prof. Dr. Willy Kriz

Prof. Dr. Willy Kriz

FH (Polytechnic) Vorarlberg, University of Applied Sciences, Professor for Human Resource Management

  • Founder member and board member of SAGSAGA
  • Development and realization of simulation games
  • Director of and lecturer at the ISAGA summer school

Initiates file downloadShort-CV

Heide Lukosch

Delft University of Technology, Assistant Professor in Simulation Gaming

  • Media and Social Scientist
  • designing and evaluation of simulation games for complex systems
  • Board member of ISAGA, member of the Academic Committee of SAGSAGA
Dr. Stefan Rappenglück

Prof. Dr. Stefan Rappenglück

Professorship for Political Science/European Studies at the University of Applied Sciences Munich

  • Developer and trainer
  • Research and multiple publications concerning also educational-didactic aspects of the simulation game method
  • Conferral of Doctorate on the subject of Simulation Games
Prof. Dr. Friedrich Trautwein

Prof. Dr. Friedrich Trautwein (Chair)

DHBW Stuttgart, Academic Head of the ZMS

  • Certified simulation game supervisor
  • Research concerning also educational-didactic aspects of the simulation game method
  • Conferral of Doctorate on the subject of “Occupational Decision-Making and Responsibility as Objective of Studies”
Dipl. Soz. Eric Treske

Dipl. Soz. Eric Treske

Owner of intrestik

  • Organisation and Simulation Games
  • Board member of SAGSAGA and ISAGA
  • Design and customisation of simulation games for use in personnel and organisational development

The submitted theses will be judged by the jury according to generally accepted academic criteria (especially relevance with regard to context and added value for the sciences and / or professionals). Deliberations will not be public and selection decision is final. The winners will be informed in writing immediately (no later than 3 weeks before the Award Ceremony).