Skip to main content

The Jury

The selection of the prize winners from the entered academic theses requires a top-class jury.

The jury of the German Simulation And Gaming Award consists 2023 of representatives from different academic institutions and experienced professionals with an interdisciplinary background:

Dr. Andrea Frank

University of Birmingham, Teaching Fellow at Centre for Urban and Regional Studies, School of Geography Earth and Environmental Sciences

Dr. Maria Freese

Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg, Group leader “Work Research & Industry 5.0“

Prof. Dr. Willy Kriz

FH (Polytechnic), University of Applied Sciences, Professor for Human Resource Management

Dr. Heide Lukosch

Human Interface Technology Lab New Zealand, Academic Staff

  • Media and Social Scientist
  • Designing and evaluation of simulation games for complex systems
  • Board member of ISAGA, member of the Academic Committee of SAGSAGA

Prof. Dr. Max Monauni

Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Lecturer for Controlling und simulation-based Learning

  • Dr. rer. pol. in Strategic Planning, Master in Controlling, Finance & Accounting
  • Facilitation of >200 simulation-based workshops, leadership trainings and lectures
  • Research and publications on simulation game concepts and use of gamification elements as well as blended learning with simulation games   

Dr. Stefan Rappenglück

Lecturer for Political Science/European Studies at the University of Applied Sciences Munich

  • Developer and trainer of political simulation games
  • Research and multiple publications concerning also educational-didactic aspects of the simulation game method
  • Conferral of Doctorate on the subject of Simulation Games

Prof. Dr. Friedrich Trautwein (Vorsitz)

DHBW Stuttgart, Academic Head of the ZMS

  • Responsible for the Planspiel-Forschungs-Forum (research forum on SG), the European Simulation and Gaming Forum as well as the ZMS publication series on the topic of simulation games
  • Research concerning also educational-didactic aspects of the simulation game method
  • Conferral of Doctorate on the subject of “Occupational Decision-Making and Responsibility as Objective of Studies”

Dipl. Soz. Eric Treske

intrestik - Owner

  • Playful moderation of participation processes
  • Development of simulation games for mobility and urban development
  • Board member of SAGSAGA

The submitted theses will be judged by the jury according to generally accepted academic criteria (especially relevance with regard to context and added value for the sciences and / or professionals). Deliberations will not be public and selection decision is final. The winners will be informed in writing immediately (no later than 3 weeks before the Award Ceremony).